



825 NE Multnomah, Suite 1225 Portland, OR 97232 (503) 595 - 9770 www.ppcpdx.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 6, 2017

Contact: Scott Corwin Phone: (503) 595-9775 Email: scorwin@ppcpdx.org

## PUBLIC POWER COUNCIL ELECTS OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS FOR 2017-2018

PORTLAND, OR — At its monthly members' meeting on January 5, 2017, the Executive Committee of the Public Power Council elected officers for the 2017-2018 term. Elected by unanimous decision were:

Daniel Peterson, Pend Oreille PUD, as Chairman

Matt Michel, Lane Electric Cooperative, as Vice Chair, Administration and Budget

Chris Robinson, Tacoma Power, as Vice Chair, Allocation/Rates/Contracts

Travis "Bear" Prairie, Idaho Falls Power, as Vice Chair, Long Range Planning

Debra Smith, Central Lincoln PUD, as Vice Chair, Fish and Wildlife

Also, at its Annual Meeting of Members on December 8, 2016, the Public Power Council announced the newly-elected Board Members who will serve a two-year term beginning January 2017 (Listed Below).

Incoming Chairman, Dan Peterson, was previously the Vice Chair, Administration and Budget, for PPC. He has served on the Board of PPC since 2007, and has served as a Commissioner at Pend Oreille PUD since 1996.

"With the current pace of change in the energy industry, this is an exciting time to take on the role as the Chairman of PPC," said Dan Peterson. "I look forward to working with the PPC members, PPC staff, and many others around the region to coordinate on creative approaches to the many issues ahead for public power."

PPC Executive Director Scott Corwin said, "We have an expert team in place that is ready to take on the challenges facing the electricity industry in the Northwest. The region is well served by these leaders, and PPC is in great hands with these Board Members and Officers at the helm."

## Elected to the Executive Committee (Board of Directors) of PPC for 2017-2018

## are:

Dan Bedbury, Clark PUD, WA Stephen Boorman, City of Cheney, WA Scott Coe, Emerald PUD, OR Craig Collar, Snohomish PUD, WA Annette Creekpaum, Mason PUD No. 3, WA Jo Elg, United Electric Cooperative, ID John Gerstenberger, Hood River Electric Cooperative, OR Mark Johnson, Flathead Electric Cooperative, MT Frank Lawson, Eugene Water & Electric Board, OR Matt Michel, Lane Electric Cooperative, OR Tim Nies, Franklin PUD, WA Kevin Nordt, Grant PUD, WA Dan Peterson, Pend Oreille PUD, WA Bear Prairie, Idaho Falls Power, ID Will Purser, Clallam PUD, WA Chris Robinson, Tacoma Power, WA Debra Smith, Central Lincoln PUD, OR Jim Smith, Klickitat PUD, WA Les Teel, Columbia REA, WA Chuck Thurman, Monmouth Power & Light, OR Larry Weis, Seattle City Light, WA

###

## About the Public Power Council

The Public Power Council, established in 1966, is an association that represents over 100 consumer-owned electric utilities in the Pacific Northwest. PPC's mission is to preserve and protect the benefits of the Federal Columbia River Power System for consumer-owned utilities, and is a forum to identify, discuss and build consensus around energy and utility issues. For more information, please visit us on the web at www.ppcpdx.org