

650 NE Holladay St, Suite 810 Portland, OR 97232 (503) 595-9770 www.ppcpdx.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 12, 2023

Contact: Scott Simms
Phone: (503) 595-9775
Email: ssimms@ppcpdx.org

PUBLIC POWER COUNCIL ELECTS OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS FOR 2023-2024 TERM

Portland, Oregon — At its monthly meeting on January 12, 2023, the Executive Committee of the Public Power Council (PPC) elected officers for the 2023-2024 term. Elected by unanimous decision were:

Bear Prairie, Idaho Falls Power, to preside as Chair

Libby Calnon, Hood River Electric & Internet Co-op, as Vice Chair, Administration and Budget

Humaira Falkenberg, Pacific County PUD #2, as Vice Chair, Allocation/Rates/Contracts

John Dietz, McMinnville Water & Light, as Vice Chair, Long Range Planning

Joe Morgan, Modern Electric Water Company, as Vice Chair, Fish and Wildlife

Chris Robinson, Tacoma Power, as Vice Chair, Market Development

Also, at its Annual Meeting of Members on November 17, 2022, the Public Power Council announced the newly-elected members of the Executive Committee, who will serve a two-year term beginning in January 2023 (*listed on the following page*).

Incoming PPC Chair, Bear Prairie, has served on the PPC Executive Committee since 2015 and held a number of vice-chair positions during that time; most recently as the vice chair of the Allocations/Rates/Contracts Committee from 2019-2020. He has impressive industry experience in Idaho and past/present board roles at the local, state, and regional levels.

"With the current pace of change in the energy industry, this is an exciting time to take on the role as the Chair of PPC," said Bear Prairie. "I look forward to working with the PPC members, PPC staff, and many others around the region to coordinate on creative approaches to the many issues ahead for public power."

PPC CEO & Executive Director Scott Simms said, "Bear Prairie is a great Chair for PPC given his depth of utility industry experience and working knowledge of the issues. With Bear at the helm, we have an expert Officer slate in place that is ready to take on the challenges facing Northwest public power. Bear will lead an impressive lineup of Officers and Board Members who together reflect the wide span of our member interests in both urban and rural communities."

Elected to the Executive Committee of PPC for 2023-2024:

Jim Anderson, Midstate Electric Cooperative

Emeka Anyanwu, Seattle City Light

Max Beach, Idaho County Light & Power Cooperative

Dan Bedbury, Clark Public Utilities

Libby Calnon, Hood River Electric & Internet Co-op

Megan Capper, Eugene Water and Electric Board

Bryan Case, Fall River Rural Electric Cooperative

Annette Creekpaum, Mason County PUD #3

John Dietz, McMinnville Water & Light

Rick Dunn, Benton PUD

Humaira Falkenberg, Pacific County PUD #2

Marc Farmer, Clatskanie PUD

Gary Huhta, Cowlitz PUD

Mark Johnson, Flathead Electric Cooperative

Joe Morgan, Modern Electric Water Company

Kevin Nordt, Grant PUD

Bear Prairie, Idaho Falls Power

Scott Rhees, Franklin PUD

Chris Robinson, Tacoma Power

Jim Smith, Klickitat PUD

Jason Zyskowski, Snohomish County PUD

###

About the Public Power Council

The Public Power Council, established in 1966, is an association that represents over 100 consumer-owned electric utilities in the Pacific Northwest. PPC's mission is to preserve and protect the benefits of the Federal Columbia River Power System for consumer-owned utilities, and is a forum to identify, discuss and build consensus around energy and utility issues. For more information, please visit us on the web at www.ppcpdx.org.